RSS Feed

Dog Day

 

Why is there no national dog holiday in the United States? I’m sure there’s a national dog day on the calendar, like there are national pizza and ice cream days, or like there’s an International Women’s Day that Americans never bother to celebrate. Maybe I don’t need a single day to remind me to celebrate my dogs – just like I’ve never felt like Mother’s Day made sense, because my gratitude for Mommy, and for my puppies, is inescapable every day. It would be like having a national Let’s-Watch-TV-After-Work day, or Maybe-Today-We-Should-Eat-Dinner day. It’s a given.

022

“Did she say dinner?”

But, if we were going to do a big commercial celebration of Dog Day, with a day off of work, and ritualized outings, what would we include?

We’d probably suddenly realize that there are nowhere near enough dog parks to serve all of the families that want to take their special loved ones out for a run. And we’d have to change all of the no-dogs-allowed rules in restaurants. We’d also have to come up with a very big, high powered pooper scooper, to help us clean up the sand at the beach at the end of Dog Day, or maybe every ten minutes of Dog Day.

IMG_1743

“Where’s the poop?”

There would be a run on bone-shaped aluminum pans at the supermarket, for all of the homemade meatloaf cakes people would be baking, and kibble and cheese and chicken and salmon would all sell out days in advance. Amazon would have to deliver thousands of doggy treadmills, wrapped in colorful bows, that would end up being used as hangers for doggy sweaters and jackets and never get used. People without dogs would have to sit at home and mutter about how there’s nothing on TV that doesn’t remind them of their dogless status, and they’d end up eating one of the leftover meatloaf cakes from the supermarket the next day, because they were on sale at half price.

The thing is, though, I’m not sure the dogs would even notice. They might notice that the dog parks were extra crowded, or that there were more barks in the air than usual, but otherwise, it would be the same celebratory feeling they get every day. The joy they feel when mommies come home from work, or human brothers come home from college for the weekend just to play with them, or when everyone in the family is home on a Sunday morning to eat bagels and give puppy scratches and run around the backyard.

pix from eos 014

“It’s dog day?”

pix from eos 088.jpg

“Yup!”

What I’m saying is, pretty much every day feels like dog day to Cricket and Butterfly, and they wouldn’t have it any other way.

pix-from-eos-005

“Are you exhausted? Because I’m really exhausted. This being a dog thing is hard work.”

img_0481

“Phew.”

About rachelmankowitz

I am a fiction writer, a writing coach, and an obsessive chronicler of my dogs' lives.

96 responses »

  1. Take Your Dog to Work Day is June 23….. There is a Respect Your Cat Day (which I totally missed!) last month. Teemu and Parker were not aware….. Parker, especially, demands my respect every day. Luckily, I am more than happy to honor her command. 😀

    Reply
  2. August 26th is National Dog Day but I doubt anyone gets off work for it (we Googled it) 🙂 So mark it on your calendar and you sweeties celebrate any way you want. Around here we don’t pay that much attention to most holidays…there seems to be one for just about anything one can think of. Hugs and nose kisses

    Reply
  3. Ellie, Jack, Huckleberry, Bobolicious, and Sonya all say Thank You! And Happy Dog Day to Cricket and Butterfly 😊

    Reply
  4. They are so cute- and like you said, every day is dog day when you have one(or two!)

    Reply
  5. I wanted to say ‘thank you’ for continuing to follow my blogging. I am learning from you that pictures really engage the reader.

    Reply
  6. Actually sweetie, there IS a “National Dog Day” . It’s Saturday, August 26
    National Dog Day 2017 in the United States of America. Um, just FYI. This post was lovely btw, just lovely. And Ms. Hunydog gave her approval to the idea of having a holiday associated with the appreciation of dog-kind. She said to mention that there’s news around the smell-mail she’s sniffed into that says the cats are planning something that day because they are feeling left out… 😉

    Reply
  7. You are right, Rachel. For all our dogs, every day is dog day. Of course, Lexi did enjoy her birthdays even more than regular days with a hamburger, fries and ice cream from McDonald’s. 🙂

    Reply
  8. Love that fifth picture on the post, but I think the caption should be, ‘What? No dog day? I find that hard to beleaf’

    Reply
  9. Our sweet pets deserve a day of recognition and should be cared and loved each day in return for the unconditional love and loyalty they give us. ❤

    Reply
  10. hairytoegardener

    Any dog who has you as his/her owner is lucky, indeed. Isn’t that right Cricket & Butterfly? I’m happy to hear there actually is such a day. (Love the leaf in the mouth photo.)

    Reply
  11. Why are you oomplaning. We birds get nothing (well, Thanksgiving, but that’s a bird bummer). Dogs have a couple of weeks in August-the “DOG DAYS”.

    Reply
  12. This was wonderful as usual, Rachel! I have never understood why it is necessary to designate a special day for people/animals/things that give us pleasure every day of the year. Perhaps just to recognize their value to us and how they light up our lives. Too bad we can’t have dogs where we live. Then again, maybe it’s for the best. I don’t want to think about what a dog would do to the neighborhood chickens and the resident pair of wild peacocks. And I don’t trust the old lady next door, who is rumored to have poisoned our landlord’s cat (and likes to shoot her BB gun at the peacocks!). Nope, I don’t think this is a dog-safe neighborhood.

    Reply
  13. There certainly should be a national dog day (and a cat day, too).Humans have relied on dog companions and vice versa for millennia for such a special inter species bond of love and caring. This past month my dog Sophie truly kept me from despair and together we weathered a difficult road trip beset by pests. I do not believe I could have survived without Sophie’s attentive care and her patience enduring what became more and more obsessive vigilance throughout the ordeal was heroic. Thank God for dogs!

    Reply
  14. Hi Rachel,

    A National Dog Day, or even a National Animal Day would be a great idea. It could not only be a day of treats but also a day for rehoming and education of some owners.

    I would definitely support such an endeavour, especially if it involved treats for those covered in fur and those unfortunate enough to be Cornish Rexs :0)

    Thank you for a lovely blog which as alwasy I enjoyed reading.

    I hope your weekend is excellent.

    Purrs,

    The Cat

    Reply
    • What a great idea! Not only would the dogs and cats with homes be celebrated, but everyone would donate to the shelters and rescues! And those poor dogless humans would be reminded that dogs who need them are just around the corner! Excellent!

      Reply
  15. Wonderful words, excellent pictures. Remember! Dogs are human too!!

    Reply
  16. Every day is a special day – we can make them all amazing! 💜 Woofs from Eivor and Pearl 💖🐾🐾

    Reply
  17. Every day is Dog Day for us. Everything we do revolves around The Dog, from going out, shopping and eating, holidays, walks, even our sleeping habits. Pain though she is sometimes, she’s our Baby and we love her, every day, just as you do your babies. They are great company, and good photo material as your girls show above. Treats by proxy. 🙂

    Reply
  18. Discovered you just now, Easter Sunday! I also have Dog Day every day as I’m a proud owner of a greyhound 🙂 https://blog4evita.com I live in France and I come from Germany… Kind regards bT!NA

    Reply
  19. Hi Cricket and Buterfly. I sure do know what its like being a dog and can relate to your tails. Its fun thought isn’t it… that is keeping our peoples in place. Woof Woof from Emma.

    Reply
  20. Well, there’s the dog days of August…

    Reply
  21. I, too, think it would be great to have a day that highlighted how much an animal can contribute to a person’s well being and to promote adoptions of the homeless animals and also spay and neutering, so there won’t be so many homeless animals.

    Reply
  22. What my dog would like for National Dog Day would simply be to take his with me wherever I go.

    Reply
  23. Lovely post, made me smile! I think you are right, they wouldn’t even notice.

    Reply
  24. Loved that post.. retired librarian, and we have National Library Week.. seems reasonable to have National Dog Day.. hugs to the pups! 🙂

    Reply
  25. You are on to something, for sure. National Dog Day is August 26 this year. Not to be confused with dog days of summer. Maybe in addition to all you mentioned, trips to day spas should be included, cruises …

    Now, if I can just get me three felines interested in National Cat Day, Oct. 29.

    Reply
  26. I agree with you, most pets wouldn’t notice if there was a day that we celebrated by taking off from work and doing dog things. Because they get all the love and attention anyway.

    Reply
  27. So many great ideas for a Dog Day! Spas and restaurants and parks OH MY.

    Reply
  28. I would love to open a dog-friendly restaurant!

    Reply
  29. Rachel, I see someone found the answer for you…Saturday, August 26
    National Dog Day 2017 in United States of America! Lol! Play fetch, eat treats and be burry! woof…woof

    Reply
  30. Definitely think every day is dog day for pampered pooches like Cricket & Butterfly. Every day is cat day in our house…

    Reply
  31. You mean every day isn’t dog day? Glad I didn’t get that memo.

    Reply
  32. Rachel, you make me smile – you’re a beaut

    Reply
  33. I see that a comment already told you that August 26, 2017, is National Dog Day but, as with Zoey the Cool Cat with National Cat Day, I’m sure all the dogs out there are asking, “Day?”

    Reply
  34. An international Dog Day Holiday would be great for dog owners, but I reckon Millie and Pearl would sleep right through it!

    Reply
  35. An actual stat holiday for dogs would be awesome! I’m sure my humom could use another excuse to be off from work and spend the day with me!

    Reply
  36. My dogs definitely live like every day is their day.

    I’m totally with you on not enough dog parts. It’s not really a problem for us since we have a fenced yard, but dogs like change too! We have a beautiful park across the street for us but it’s a no dog zone. Not really fair since our property taxes support it, yet we have dogs and no kids.

    Reply
  37. A dog holiday, where do I sign the petition! And I love the vision of a run on dogbone shaped meatloaf pans.
    Ha! My dogs are satisfied as long as I remember to give them walks, Biscuits, a cool place in the summer and the weekly outing. We just returned from the dog park – where the fellas played with little terriers, a Bassett and two big Great Danes. A fine nap follows.

    Reply
  38. As others have advised World dog day is 26 Aug. Such important animals could not miss out. Horses have a birthday, as does the Queen, Us dogs definitely deserve to have a day to be celebrated. Woofs from KoKo

    Reply
  39. Hahaha! Love it! Some great ideas. You could write advertising campaigns! Our woofy likes it too!

    Reply
  40. LOL! I have dog cake mixes in my store! we could make dog cakes with chew-bones on them to celebrate! My dog would love that but the cats are going to hate me….

    Reply
  41. Ok… My daughter has to see this… Sharing:)

    Reply
  42. I love the pictures especially on this post. By the looks of Cricket and Butterfly’s smiles – everyday is dog day for them!

    Reply
  43. They are so cute. Is one if them a Pekingese?

    Reply
  44. Pingback: DOG DAY – MP Barkery

Leave a Reply

